Government of Tripura Deptt. of Science, Technology & Environment Vigyan, Prajukti O Parivesh Bhawan Gorkhabasti: Agartala

F.No.8(30)/DSTE/ENV/Pt.IV/6976 - 90

November, !.3.:!!. 2019

MEMORANDUM

Ministry of Environment, Forest and Climate Change, Government of India has issued a set of Standard Guidelines for Single-Use Plastic, wherein following actions have been suggested to be undertaken by Government offices:

- i) All Govt. Offices/sub-ordinate offices etc., all other offices under the administrative control shall be declared single-use plastic free by banning single-use plastic items/disposable plastic items including:
 - i) All types of Plastic carry bags; and
 - ii) Plastic/thermocol(Polystyrene) disposable cutlery including cups/glass, bowls, glasses, forks, spoons, containers, straws etc. used for serving eatables/drinks.
- ii) Further, all Govt. offices/sub-ordinate offices etc. and all other offices under the administrative control shall discouraged to use plastic products including:
 - i) Artificial flowers, banners, flags, flower pots;
 - ii) PET plastic water bottles;
 - iii) Plastic folders, trays etc. and
 - iv) Any other plastic material for which an alternative exists.
- iii) All Government offices/sub-ordinate offices etc. shall promote and practice source segregation. Public sector enterprises should be encouraged to promote such phase-out of single-use plastics.
- 2. In view of the above, it has been decided that all the establishments under the Department of Science, Technology and Environment, Government of Tripura including its District Offices, Directorate of Biotechnology and Organizations under its administrative control be declared as "Single-Use Plastic Free".
- 3. Further, all events organized/sponsored by the establishments of this Department within or outside the office premises should strictly be "Single-Use Plastic Free".

(Shailendra Singh)
Special Secretary
Government of Tripura

Contd....P/2

Copy to :-

- 1) P.S. to the Hon'ble Dy. Chief Minister, Government of Tripura.
- 2) PPS to the Chief Secretary, Government of Tripura.
- The Chairman, Tripura State Pollution Control Board.
- 4) The Director, DSTE, Government of Tripura.
- 5) The Director, DBT, Government of Tripura.
- 6) The Member Secretary, Tripura State Pollution Control Board.
- 7) The Member Secretary, Tripura State Council for Science & Technology.
- 8) The Member Secretary, Tripura Biotechnology Council, Agartala.
- 9) The Scientific Officer, West/South/North/Dhalai District Offices of DSTE.
- 10) The In-Charge, Sukanta Academy, Agartala.
- 11) The In-Charge, Sub-Regional Science Centre, Udaipur.
- 12) Sri S.Banik, Scientific Officer, DSTE for publication in the Departmental website.

(Shailendra Singh) Special Secretary Government of Tripura